Kögel Assistance
Contact Person
Downloads
Telematics

History

From Ulm into the world

A company makes history

It all began in Ulm in 1934. The young Franz Xaver Kögel took over the wagon business of his teacher Georg Schmid. Thanks to his craftsmanship and as a born entrepreneur, Franz Xaver made more of it. Much more!

To date, our employees have already produced well over half a million vehicles. This experience helps us to continue setting milestones in the development and manufacture of modern trailer solutions. In spite of the challenges, one thing has remained the same: our passion for the transport industry.

Renowned tipper specialist

Image

We have a long tradition in the construction industry in particular. As early as the 1930s, we were known for tipper bodies on trucks, including two-axle trailers and trailers for agriculture.

Highlights include:

  • Semitrailers with two independent tipper bridges and tipping semitrailers with steel tipper body (1950s)
  • The first self-supporting rounded aluminum tipper body (1966)
  • The first modular component tipper body in a lightweight, high-strength bimetal design. Here, you can set up the wall and floor strength of your tipper trailer in line with your wishes (2002).

Trendsetter in radiator construction

We have also been setting trends in cooler construction since the start of the 1950s. With small box bodies in light metal, for example – the precursors to subsequent refrigerated vehicles. Or with the first refrigerated semitrailer with a free-standing, fully plastic structure (1961) and the first pallet-width refrigerated unit (1969).

Further milestones include:

  •  The first refrigerated semitrailer with a self-supporting structure (1976)
  •  The 1.3-m-longer EuroTrailer as a refrigerated box semitrailer (2007)
  •  The premium refrigerated box semitrailer Cool – PurFerro quality (2012)

TAKING EFFICIENCY TO THE NEXT LEVEL - NOVUM

Image

Since 2018, Kögel has been setting new standards for all model series with the NOVUM generation of vehicles - including a reinforced body, new outer frame and a clear focus on further improved user-friendliness. In addition, the increased payload of the NOVUM generation makes a decisive contribution to reducing CO2 emissions per transported ton. The NOVUM generation from Kögel was awarded the international industry prize “Trailer Innovation 2019” at the IAA Commercial Vehicles 2018 in the “Concept” category.

With our innovations, we at Kögel have been influencing the image of modern road haulage for years. We are one of Europe’s great trailer manufacturers. We are proud of this.

Image

TRANSPORT SOLUTIONS - MADE IN GERMANY

What has made us great over the years is still important to us: engineering quality. Innovations that are aligned to our customers’ wishes. The reliability of an owner-run family business with long-term prospects. Ulrich Humbaur, Kögel’s owner since 2009, combines these values with his strong commitment to Germany. In this context, we at Kögel work on the transport solutions of tomorrow today – with the utmost precision, state-of-the-art expertise and plenty of attention to detail. And above all, the enthusiasm we have demonstrated since 1934. Just as things began with Franz Xaver Kögel.

Do you fancy a journey through time? We have compiled some of the milestones in our company's history for you in our quick run-through:

AN EVENTFUL HISTORY: THE KÖGEL TIMELINE

Learn more

With our newsletter you are always well informed. Discover the latest news live from your Kögel world right away!

Kögel Assistance
Ansprechpartner
Downloads
Telematics

Geschichte

Aus Ulm in die Welt

Ein Unternehmen macht Geschichte

Alles begann 1934 in Ulm. Der junge Franz Xaver Kögel übernahm die Wagnerei seines Lehrherrn Georg Schmid. Durch sein handwerkliches Geschick und als geborener Unternehmer machte Franz Xaver mehr daraus. Viel mehr!

Bis heute haben unsere Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter schon mehr als eine halbe Million Fahrzeuge produziert. Mit dieser Erfahrung setzen wir immer wieder Meilensteine in der Entwicklung und Fertigung moderner Trailer-Lösungen. Trotz aller Herausforderungen ist dabei eines immer gleichgeblieben: unsere Leidenschaft fürs Transportwesen.

Rennomierter Kipper-Spezialist

Image

Vor allem im Baubereich haben wir eine lange Tradition. Schon ab den 1930er Jahren wurden wir mit Kippaufbauten auf Lkw samt Zweiachs-Anhängern und Anhängern für die Landwirtschaft bekannt.

Highlights waren u. a.

  • Sattelanhänger mit zwei unabhängigen Kippbrücken und Kippsattelanhänger mit Stahlmulde (1950er)
  • erste selbstragende Aluminium-Rundmulde (1966)
  • erste modular angelegte Komponentenmulde in einer leichten, hochfesten Bi-Metall-Ausführung. Hierbei können Sie sich die Wand- und Bodenstärken Ihres Kippers ganz nach Ihren Wünschen zusammenstellen (2002).

Trendsetter im Kühlerbau

Auch im Kühlerbau setzen wir seit Anfang der 1950er immer wieder Trends. Etwa mit kleinen Kofferbauten aus Leichtmetall – den Vorläufern der späteren Kühlfahrzeuge. Oder mit dem ersten Kühlsattelanhänger in freitragender Vollkunststoff-Bauweise (1961) und dem ersten palettenbreiten Kühlsattel (1969).

Weitere Meilensteine waren:

  •  erster Kühlsattelanhänger in selbsttragender Bauweise (1976),
  •  der um 1,3 m verlängerte Euro Trailer als Kühlkofferauflieger (2007)
  •  Premium-Kühlkofferauflieger Cool-PurFerro quality (2012)

WIRTSCHAFTLICH WEITER DENKEN: NOVUM

Image

Seit 2018 setzt Kögel mit der Fahrzeuggeneration NOVUM für alle Baureihen neue Maßstäbe – unter anderem mit einem verstärkten Aufbau, neuen Außenrahmen und einem klaren Fokus auf eine weiter verbesserte Nutzerfreundlichkeit. Zudem trägt die erhöhte Nutzlast der NOVUM-Generation entscheidend dazu bei, die CO2-Emissionen pro transportierter Tonne zu reduzieren. Die NOVUM-Generation von Kögel wurde auf der IAA Nutzfahrzeuge 2018 in der Kategorie „Konzept“ mit dem internationalen Branchenpreis „Trailer Innovation 2019“ ausgezeichnet.

Mit unseren Innovationen prägen wir bei Kögel seit Jahren das Bild des modernen Straßengüterverkehrs. Wir zählen zu den großen Trailer-Herstellern in Europa. Darauf sind wir stolz.

Image

TRANSPORTLÖSUNGEN - MADE IN GERMANY

Was uns in all den Jahren groß gemacht hat, ist uns nach wie vor wichtig: ingenieursgeprägte Qualität. Innovationen, die sich an den Wünschen unserer Kunden ausrichten. Die Verlässlichkeit eines inhabergeführten Familienunternehmens mit langfristiger Perspektive. Ulrich Humbaur, seit 2009 Inhaber von Kögel, verbindet diese Werte mit seinem klaren Bekenntnis zum Standort Deutschland. In diesem Sinne arbeiten wir bei Kögel heute an den Transportlösungen von morgen – mit höchster Präzision, modernstem Know-how und viel Liebe zum Detail. Und vor allem mit der Begeisterung, die wir seit 1934 leben. Als mit Franz Xaver Kögel alles begann.

Lust auf eine Zeitreise? Einige Meilensteine unserer Unternehmensgeschichte haben wir in unserem Schnelldurchlauf für Sie zusammengestellt:

BEWEGTE GESCHICHTE: DIE KÖGEL-CHRONIK

Mehr erfahren

Mit unserem Newsletter sind Sie immer bestens informiert. Entdecken Sie gleich die neuesten Nachrichten live aus Ihrer Kögel-Welt!